1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Commencement--May 17, 2015

Phase I (9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.), in which all Tufts schools participate, is the All-University Commencement ceremony. It includes the Academic Procession, the awarding of honorary degrees, the All-University Commencement address, recognition of faculty emeriti, presentation of degree candidates by school and the granting of degrees by the Tufts University Board of Trustees. Phase I takes place on The Green, between Ballou Hall and Bendetson Hall. Tickets not required.

Phase II of Commencement at Tufts consists of individual degree ceremonies and luncheons. Immediately following the Phase I All-University Commencement, individual department and school ceremonies will take place. It is at these ceremonies that graduates’ names are announced and students are individually recognized. Phase II ceremonies for departments of the School of Arts and Sciences and for the School of Engineering are held in two waves: 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.; or 1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Please see links below to Phase II information for each school. Tickets not required.

Please note: There will be a live webcast of Phase I, beginning at 8:00 a.m. on Sunday, May 17. A link to the webcast will be posted on this webpage on Commencement Sunday.

2014 Commencement Photo Gallery

Phase II Ceremonies

For Phase II ceremonies, please see the appropriate school commencement site:

Future Commencement Dates

  • 2016 – May 22
  • 2017 – May 21
  • 2018 – May 20
  • 2019 – May 19

Tufts Night at the Pops 2015

Please note: Tufts Night at the Pops will be held on Friday, May 15, 2015, at 8:00 p.m., in Symphony Hall, Boston.

Commencement 2015 Speaker

Madeleine Albright, who reinforced America’s alliances, advocated for democracy and human rights and promoted American trade as well as its business, labor and environmental standards abroad while serving as the United States’ first woman secretary of state, will deliver Tufts University’s commencement address on May 17, 2015.

2015 Honorary Degree Recipients

Madeleine Albright
Suzin Bartley
Joichi “Joi” Ito
Joseph Neubauer
Navanethem “Navi” Pillay
Jawole Willa Jo Zollar